300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question regarding Airport Police

Hey everybody, I have another question. I am a young officer with less then a year L.E. experience. Can anyone give me their opinions on Airport Police? Are they looked at in the same light as "regular" police officer. I have seen posts that reference college police but none regarding Airport Police. I live in FL and Airport Police here are fully certified LEO's just like any other Police Officer. To a citizen an Airport cop is probably the same as a "regular"cop
    But do other Officers have the same respect for Airport officers as they do "regular officers"

I am not going to pick a L.E. job based on its popularity but I dont want to work somewhere that other officers make jokes behind my back.

Also, if I worked for the Airport Police for a few years and then wanted to transfer to a large Police agency, do you think they will consider being an Airport officer on the same level as a "regular cop" ?

Thank you all very much for your help.

PS: When I refernce "regular cop" I am meaning municipal,county,state or federal police officers. I just didnt want to type all that out everytime.

Airport Police ARE the POLICE...at least in this neck of the woods and I am talking CVG...Cincinnati/Kentucky International Airport.

-Collin
    "Let's Roll" - T. Beamer

Comment

I appreciate that. Where I am at some officers make small cracks about some departments, generely campus cops or tiny municipalities. (1-5 officers) They tend to think that there not "real" cops. Dont get me wrong, they would back them up if neccessary and even be their friends. They just think that a "real" cop should work where there is "real" crime. I think it is because they are just narrowminded or it is that they are jealous because these other officers make the same if not more money then they do and yet they dont deal with inner city crime everyday. But that is just my opinion.

Comment