Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Leaving New Zealand: what are my chances?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leaving New Zealand: what are my chances?

I'm 24 years old and I currently work for the New Zealand Police in a non-sworn position. Essentially we track forensic results, audit police files, and respond to official and public information requests. While not being particularly interesting itself, the job has inspired me to pursue a career in Law enforcement. I have a liberal arts MA (masters degree) majoring in English, which may not seem particularly relevant, but at least I could write up a good report. I have no criminal history at home or abroad, however I did experiment with marijuana in my late teens; never owned or purchased, smoked on maybe 8 to 10 occasions.

My partner is an American citizen and we expect to marry within a year or so and settle back in the states (proably WA or CA). I was hoping that some of you would be able to answer my questions.

Firstly, I'm aware that most American PDs require US citizenship. I don't expect to be naturalized untill im 28 or 29. With that in mind:

1) Is age 28-30 too late to be starting a LE career, particularly if you would like to proceed to an investigative level and perhaps work in Federal LE?

2) Which departments to not require citizenship? (I'm aware someone made a comprehensive post in this regard, but I have not been able to find it) Is it likely that the citizenship requirement may be dropped in some places in the near future?

3) Will my status as a naturalized citizen, as opposed to a citizen by birth, be any hinderance to me in reality?

4) Given my education, current job and the fact that I intend to learn a couple of languages in the next few years (hopefully), what do you think my chances are for sucess in eventually getting a job?

I apologize for the length of this post, but any answers would be greatly appreciated.