Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do I need to put myself through an academy?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do I need to put myself through an academy?

I hope to follow my life-long dream and enter law enforcement next summer when the wife graduates and is able to financially support me for a change. I have an MBA and lots of work experience, so I do not think that testing will be a problem. I really like to help people and I enjoy not sitting behind a desk. I am working out like crazy to get in shape. We will be moving where my wife gets a job, so I do not have the advantage of being entirely flexible with location.

The problem is that I noticed that many help wanted ads require graduation from an academy. I was always under the mistaken impression that once you are hired, the agency you work for puts you through training. Am I best off putting myself through an academy, then looking for a job? It seems a good way to make yourself a better candidate, but costs a bunch especially since there is no guaranteed job at the end. Thanks for the help.