300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about Veterans Affairs Police

I am currently a NYS Peace Officer with the Office Of Mental Health and I have an interview scheduled with the VA Police in Manhattan. Can any VA
    Police out there give me an honest overview of the job. I am actually quite happy where I am, but it never hurts to consider other options. Some specific
    questions are: Is it a union position,are there salary "steps" where the pay goes up every year and just any general input on the job.
    Thanks.

PHP Code:
    Question about Veterans Affairs Police 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am currently a NYS Peace Officer with the Office Of Mental Health and I have an interview scheduled with the VA Police in ManhattanCan any VA 
    Police out there give me an honest overview of the job
    I am actually quite happy where I ambut it never hurts to consider other optionsSome specific
    questions are
    Is it a union position,are there salary "steps" where the pay goes up every year and just any general input on the job.
    Thanks
    Can't much say about the Manhattan Va but in upstate, we are a single building with only arrest and LEO powers on property. Me personally the training that they give is great and constant so you never get rusty. As far union yes, but most Federal Jobs a prob. career conditional and career. Yes there are steps, can't say what GS paygrade you will start at, but I started at a GS-06 step 1 and now am a 2. My partner started as a GS 4 1 and is now a 5-04 and next year will be a higher pay and higher step then me. And we started at the same time. Go fiqure. As far as LEO work goes I would rather be on the streets as a municipal cop. Other like like it hear. you may or may not depending on what you want to do as far as LEO work goes.
    IGNORE LIST - Banastretarlton AKA "banana boy"