300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Concerns over NYPD credit check

I am leaning towards appyling for the NYPD and am concerned over the credit check part of the BI. I'd file for bankruptcy(my credit is pretty bad) but since agencies frown on that too, any suggestions on how to approach this? It seems I'm stuck in a no win situation. I understand why they look at that but I've been a police officer in PA for over 6 years and my integrity has never been questioned. My credit history has no bearing on my performance as an officer. How hard of a time do you think they will give me?

I'd suggest applying and hoping for the best. However, on $25k a year I don't know if you'll be able to work off your debt easily. Good luck.

Comment

They are going to give you paperwork on your first meeting and in that paperwork you will have to list all debts over $5000. From that point on it will be an issue, especially in the psychological. Cops in NYC now are paid low and they have no tolerance for corruption. So, I think you get the point.

Try getting a credit counselor to consolidate all you bad debt and begin paying it off. Keep records of payments to show you are trying to clear it up.

Good luck

Comment

Well the $25,100 a year turns into what, $31,000 after 6 months and then soon $36,000 and so forth... 5 years is relatively quick for advancement to a cozy $59,000 a year, not even counting if you become a detective or do a lot of overtime.

My uncle has been in for 15 years and says with all of his overtime (he did a lot) he made around $85,000 for the year 2005. He said if you love working a lot and don't mind it, you make decent money at NYPD.

Comment

Originally posted by copbadge32