300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Black Balled

I have 17 years LE experience, and am trying to "get back into it" here in the south Metro Atlanta area after a 1.5 year absence from LE. I have applied with several agencies here on the south side, but without much luck. The way it usually goes is I apply, get called in for a test, interview, and then never hear from the agency again.
    I recently was interviewing with a county police dept. down here, when the BI told me that when he contacted my most recent LE employer, that the Capt. at that agency bassically told the BI that I was the biggest piece of crap and a terrible trouble maker. When the BI told me this, I was suprised to say the least! The BI told me that I was a "no go" with his agency until he could go to my previous agency and pull my personnel file.
    Has anyone else had this experience? I'm lost as to what to do! If what the BI says is true, then it would explain why I never heard anything else from the other agencies. I thought that all the previous employer could tell over the phone was confirm I worked there, salary and whether or not the employee was eligble for rehire. From what the BI says, it sounds almost as if it would satisfy the elements of the crime for slander!
    Any help or advise anyone can give, please please let me know!

If you can verify that they are saying stuff like that, then you could sue. What does your personnel file say? Remember... the truth is an absolute defense against libel and slander. If they've documented that you're "the biggest piece of crap and a terrible trouble maker", then you're likely screwed.