Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Got the guts?

Hello all,
    My name is John and I've been on the forum for several months now. I am a college student in Wisconsin and am very interested in becoming an LEO. My question today is... well let me explain. As I get closer to making the desicion of wether to go into LE, I keep analyzing myself. I consider myself an easy going, nice guy and people have told me thats how they view me too. I am a decently big guy, but I have more of a baby face than some. The thing is, I don't have a "type A" personality, or alpha male outlook on things. I feel like since I am not the most forceful or aggressive person, that might detract from my eligibility in LE. Its not that I won't stand up for what I believe in, I just tend to go with the flow more often than not (except for situations were laws are involved, then I go with the law). I have ridden with many different LEO's and have seen many of them have similar personalities/social skills. So my question is, do you have to be a dominant/agressive/confident person to be considered for a job in LE, or are these skills and personality traits taught to you/come with working on the job. Maybe I am being vague, I just feel like I need to toughen up to deal with some of the crap you guys and gals see routinely. Thanks for any input/personal stories you can offer.

Best- John

Not sure if I'll answer your question but bere goes: