Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to become a officer in NJ (PA certified now)

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to become a officer in NJ (PA certified now)

Hi,

I have a question and hoping that some of you can clear the air here.

My situation is as follows. I have 14 years of police experience in Pennsylvania and my soon to be wife got a great job offer in northern NJ (Lyndhurst/Nutley area) and we will be moving so I have to quit my job.

Does anyone know the hiring proceedure I will have to go thru, I get the impression there is one statewide test given every 2 years??? is this true and also will my PA certification carry over into New Jersey for a waiver of training so I dont have to redo the academy. and will having my PA certification help me get a job?

Also any other advice or anbything would be greatly appricated this is very new to me going to another state.

Thanks!

Some towns hire via through civil service route while others hire via a test or resume. Lyndhurst does not use NJDOP (civil service) as they administer their own test. Nutley does hire via civil service testing. The state wide civil service test is given every two years and the next test is supposed to take place in late 2006.

New Jersey is considered one of the most difficult places in the country to land a cop job because many factors such as:

Pay- Many NJ depts. pay very well. In fact it is somewhat common for agencies in Bergen County (the county Lyndhurst is in) to top out in the 90k range for a patrolman without overtime.

Benefits- Very few jobs can match the fringe benefits that local Pds offer. 70% retirement @25 years and full medical coverage after you retire are two examples of the great benefits that are offered.