300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cobb County Police Department (ga.)

I'm Currently A Cop In South Florida And My Wife And I Considering Moving Up To The Cobb/paulding County Area, For The Obvious Reasons If You Know Anything About S. Fla. (i.e.-housing Out Of Control, ****tie Place To Raise Kids, Public Schools Suck And Oh Yeah The Hurricanes). I Was Looking At Cobb County Police Department Based On What I Saw On Their Web Site. If Anyone Works Or Knows Anyone Who Works For C.c.p.d. I Wanted To Know About The Pro's And Con's Of The Department.
    I.e.-contract/no Contract, Take Homes, Pay Scale/no Pay Scale- How Many Years To Top Out, Pension-what % Do Officers Contribute And At What % Do You Retire (i.e. 75%), Off Duty Details-hourly Rate, Is There Alot Of Details / Possiblity Of Making $15-$20k A Year In Details, Health, Dental, Vision Insurance (how Much For Family Coverage For Each), Overtime Available In General, Education Incentives-extra $ For A.a / B.s. Degree, Promotions-process, How Long To Make Cpl./p.o. Iii And Sgt. And Job Security. You Know Just The Basics. Thanks To Anyone With Information In Advance.

well they're CALEA certified that'd be good enough for me.

Comment

I can only answer a few of your questions. First Cobb is a nice county north of Atlanta and the department is one of the better paying departments in the metro Atlanta area. It does suck to live on the north side of Atlanta because traffic is a nightmare if you need to travel south. Cobb doesn't have take homes which for me sucks. However most of the surrounding metro counties do have take homes. I would suggest the south side of Atlanta where the pay is not bad but most agencies have take home rides. As far as the other, I don't know anything about ret. benefits.
      God created some police officers perfect, the rest he put in cars.

Comment