300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving to Arizona?

O.k... I am a police officer in San Diego, CA (7.5yrs) and love the department. However, I don't love the City management and how they are breaking our back with the financial problems they have created. They have underfunded the retirement accounts and now they want to force the costs onto the employees. They want us (PD) to take a 6.5% pay cut by having us pay that additional amount into the retirement fund. The problem with their logic is that all it does it transfer the burden. It does nothing to increase the contributions of the city or decrease the amount of the debt.

I am thinking it won't be any better in a year. My fear is that after saddling us with this 6.5%, they will come back to us next year with their hands out and say... 'MORE!'

I am trying to figure out what I am going to do. There are several smaller agencies who are hiring and even offering signing bonuses to lateral over to them. I could do that, but if I am ready for the change I thought I might move to Arizona. It has a lower cost of living and I have a ton of equity in my house.

Can you guys/gals help me out. Which is the largest city in Arizona? Which is the busiest? Where is the best place to live? Any help is appreciated.

thanks,

Dave
    “You sleep safe in your beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do you harm.”

Largest city is Phoenix. Best places to live are either east side, Gilbert, Chandler, etc. or west side Surprise, Avondale, Litchfield Park, Peoria. Phoenix PD is a GREAT department. You do not have to live in Phoenix city limits to work for them.

Good Luck
    She wants someone to call her angel, Someone to put the light back in her eyes...

In honor of: Cpl Chad Powell USMC Killed In Action Fallujah, Iraq June 23, 2005

Comment

Maricopa County Sheriff's Office... That is the way to go!!
      www.mcso.org