300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scottsdale, AZ, PD

First post, but been lurking for some time.

Took the Scottsdale PD entrance exam this past weekend and did OK. Physical scores were not quite as high as I would've liked -- 50 pushups (1 minute), 41 situps (1 minute) 12:30 in the 1.5 mile -- but well above the minimums.

Scored an 88 out of possible 100 on the written, which I guess is pretty good. Have oral boards tomorrow, so we'll see how that goes. Have to begin filling out this ginormous background check package

FWIW, I'm 36 years old and am going through what I call a midlife career crisis. I'm a writer with a degree in journalism and have made my living writing for my entire professional life. But I also did a spell in the Army, combat MP and was in the first Gulf War.

I'm looking for a different career as I've grown jaded by the 9 to 5 white collar thing. I haven't yet applied to any other department here in the Valley, as I live in Scottsdale and would love to work near home. We'll see how this thing pans out.

Anyway, just saying hi. If anyone's interested, I follow-up as I get further along.
    dion

sounds like you did pretty good and good luck!

Comment

Good Luck.... Hope it goes well for ya!!!
      "...and that was the second time I had crabs."
      "Stinks like sex in here."

Comment

Just got back from the oral board. Really tough to tell, but I think I did a decent job overall. They made me stumble in a couple of places, but I feel mostly positive about it. Guess we'll see.
        d

Comment

Hola Fellow Zonie

Hey, strong work! You have a lot to be proud of.

If I may reccomend looking at Phx. PD also. They are the largest in the state, they pay well, and they pay you more for education. I have done TONS of research on AZ depts. and Phx. keeps rising to the top. I need to get my run time down and then I am all about it.