300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marine looking for good advice

I am in the Marines and getting out in about a year. I am moving home to Tampa FL and want to pursue a carrer as a police officer there. I am pretty new to this and was looking for some advice on getting an application started and how I can prepare myself as much as possible before I get out.

Well to start the process in Florida, most agencies require you to already be Florida Law Enfct Certified. Im not an officer in Florida, but im looking into going there myself, so ive been researching as much as possible. If you have another year in the corp, i would try and get some college under my belt, maybe in criminal justice. Get the training while you can still get it free. Then as you get closer to your discharge date start calling recruiters and asking questions. Your going to need to be certified first, so after getting some insight on agencies, start looking at the academies in the area (i think there all handled by community colleges in Florida), in my academy (las vegas,nv) one of our officers used his GI bill to pick up the cost so you wont have to worry to much about the dime. After passing the state exam, start putting out your aps. Ya never know, maybe you'll get lucky and agency will sponsor you, but i heard its rare in Florida.....hope this helps

Comment

You could also check out their web site and see what is required.

If your at Cherry point or camp LeJuene, you might want to check out the Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET) up there. Fins a sponsor agency and then become a reserve until your EAS.

Your GI Bill shoul help you alot.
      Remember, it is the Soldier, not the reporter, who has given us the freedom of the press. It is the Soldier, not the poet, who has given us the freedom of speech. It is the Soldier who salutes the flag, who serves beneath the flag and whose coffin is draped by the flag, who allows the protester to burn the flag.