300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Prior Service

I got out of the Navy with an honorable discharge, but with an RE-3G retention code. Will that effect my eligibility? I've been going to school for Criminal Justice for the past year and a half and would hate to have gone this far and not be eligible. Any advice would be helpful!

Being a vet myself, I don't think many Background Investigators would care so much about your retention code......as opposed to the charecter of your discharge. You said Honorable, so that's a good plus for you. Anything else would probably raise questions.

Another thing that they may call into question was any past disciplinary action you may have. Any Article 15's, arrests, criminal investigations, and any involvement in a Court Martial will all be brought to light during your background check/interview. It's best to be as honest and forthright as possible when the time comes. Good Luck to you.

Comment

re code

hey man im in the same boat i got a 4e retention code no one seems to mind

Comment

Question

what is a 4e and a re-3g retention codes.

Comment

Retention Codes

Having been the hiring coordinator for over 10 years with a medium sized agency, we don't base our final decisions on the retention code however it is something we do check on. I am also a Navy vet and attended college out of militaryon GI Bill. If I could make a suggestion it would be to get your degree, there's always time to go into law enforcement. Most agencies require some college and the more the better. Shows dedication, dependability, stability and drive. I'd say you are on the right track and if you have trouble getting into law enforcement because of the retention code, look to central Texas (DFW) area and with you degree you'll find a job.
          Hope this helps.

Comment