300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings from the ATL

Hello! I'm new to posting here, but I read on a daily basis. I find some very interesting posts. Some thought provoking, others just down right senseless. Just to tell you a little about myself, I am a nine year police veteran in the Atlanta metro area. I am presently assigned as an SRO, but looking to move onto greener pastures. I am interviewing with several of the fed agencies, and can not wait to get away from GA. I have outgrown what local law enforcement in this area has to offer. If anyone can assist me with info on the Supreme Court Police, Capitol Police, and the Pentagon Police, I would greatly appreciate it.

I work for DC city police and I am somewhat familiar with these agencies. I think Capitol is far and away the best of the three. They are well equipped and (I believe) well trained. Also they have some patrol responsibilities in the Capitol Hill area. The area has robberies and burglaries. Also if you want to work you can get plenty out of traffic stops. CPD has all sorts of specialized units. Maybe 2 years ago they were shorthanded and had plenty of OT. Some of it was mandatory which was not popular. Dont know if that's still the case. They were offering officers from my dept good money to lateral over, but I dont know the specifics. When you start you will be walking for awhile. Around the Capitol there are several cops on every corner. They have a lot of fixed posts. I think they work the same schedule as Uniformed Secret Service. 2 hours on post, 1 hour on break or something similiar.