Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Federal Corrections

Hello everyone,
    I just recieved a email from the BOP about my current application. I recieved instructions from the Human Resources department to contact them prior to setting up an appointment and fax some required paper work to the institution.
    I was wondering if anyone knew anything about the Federal Corrections and the other possibilities that may come from having a position like that. Maybe Marshalls? If you would could anybody explain their job and or retirement system to me? Is it comparible to a PD's (20 in and out with 50% pay). Thanks Top

Top,

I am by no means an expert on the Bureau of Prisons, but I can shed some light on the federal side of the LE house. First off, there is no agency relation between the BOP and the US Marshal's Service. They are two seperate agencies and there is no possiblity to "promote" to a Deputy US Marshal from the BOP.

That having been said, the federal system is like a club, once you're in somewhere, it is easier to get another federal job. If you are hired by agency X and do well, if you were otherwise qualified, it will be easier for you to transfer to agency Y, than it would be to be hired as an applicant off the street. I work with many people that started with other agencies.

Additionally, the service time for Federal LE jobs otherwise known as "6C" is 25 years or at least 20 years of service by age 57. I don't know if the BOP is covered under this plan or not. Also have other programs such as the Thrift Savings Program, which is a sort of defered compensation, that the G pays into as well.

Best of luck,

Puffy
    Last edited by Puffy6460; 12-31-2004, 02:37 PM.

Comment