300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Las Vegas Area

My wife and I are interested in the Las Vegas area. It appears to offer a lot, yet I honestly don't know enough about Las Vegas (aside from the strip) to make a decision about applying/moving. What are the pros and cons of being a Las Vegas area cop?

Considerations: I've been a cop in a midwestern city of about 65000 people for just over 7 years and we have 3 young children.

Is there a particular agency that would be better suited for me? Are there other things about the area that I should be aware of before applying?

Thanks for your help.

Major, Major, Major politics in law enforcement out there in Las Vegas. Housing is sky rocketing, most homes don't have real yards,yards are non-existant (some pebbles and sand for the most part). Hope you like gambling or strip clubs because thats what your going to get for entertainment.

Do we even need to mention the heat in the summer, alwayys 105+ degrees and thats not even considering wearing the vest or standing on the hot road directing traffic.

At this temp. it really doesn't matter if it's a dry heat or not, a furnance is a furnace is a furnace
    Fear is only as deep as the mind allows

Comment

Guess it depends on the person...we don't even gamble, but we considered it BECAUSE of all the strip clubs, the affordable housing and no state income tax. Seemed like a very professional agency with opportunities in just about every possible LE assignment.