300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Masters Degree?

I have decided to go for my Masters degree in Criminal Justice, I was wondering if anyone in the forums has this degree and what they've been able to do with it. Thanks.

Re: Masters Degree?

Originally posted by audi0xpl0de
    I have decided to go for my Masters degree in Criminal Justice, I was wondering if anyone in the forums has this degree and what they've been able to do with it. Thanks.
    I am also attempting to earn an M.S in Criminal Justice. What school are you going with?
    I chose a school called Columbia Southern University. Its Nationally Accredited, see www.detc.org for more accredited schools. Its not as well recognized as Regionally Accredited, but its still accredited.
    I think earning a M.S degree will provide you with one more credential in the event you get out of law enforcement. I know I had an interview within my department for Detective, and I told them I was a grad student at Columbia Southern, and it added points to my overall score. Although I did eventually lose out to another officer with 13 years experience. I have only 2 years. I also had a job interview with the Secret Service and my M.S degree came up during the interview and it also was very positive. So, I just think having a M.S is a way of "padding" the resume, but at the same time I think it will truely open doors that otherwise would be shut.