300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• chapter 13 bankruptcy

This is a question for any background investigators out there. My wife and I had to file for chpt 13 a little over 2 yrs ago. We did this as a last resort to keep our house after she lost her job as a travel agent and the overtime at my job was cut out. My question is, whether or not this will disqualify me for a law enforcement job when the background check is performed? I have some law enforcement experience, I have been through a police academy and worked for the Dallas County Sheriff's Dept for 3 1/2 years as a detention service officer before resigning for my current job. I want get back into a L.E. career but i'm wondering because of my credit situation if I'am wasting my time. Any advice or comments is greatly appreciated.

The bankrupcy itself shouldn't disqulify you in most dept's, but it depends on their standards and they usually don't give those out. The reason you filed, the circumstances surrounding it, and your credit re-building and level of responsibility afterwards weigh heavily. For example, someone who is single and loads up 3 or 4 credit cards, buys a car above their level of income, and is consistently late on bill payments (which lead to the bankrupcy) shows a lack of self discipline..which says a ton about your character.

On the flipside, if a person has a tragic event or a business fails which leads to the bankrupcy AND then slowly re-builds the credit by spending wisely and paying all debts on time is in a much better light.