300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any Florida LEOs out there?

I'm looking for advice from my future fellow brothers, especially those from the Tampa area. Unfortunately, I won't be ready for hire for another 2 years due to my current military responsibililties. Any input will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    Made ya look!!!

I'm particularly interested in Tampa PD, any PD in Pinellas county, or any neighboring Sheriff's Office. I've been to the leoaffirs.com site, and those forums are mainly for bitching, it seems.
    Made ya look!!!

Comment

Hey!!
      Well I wish you good luck on your search I am a recent Academy graduate and am currently looking myself. I do however know that TPD requires 60 credit hours or an Associates degree. In Pinellas County you must register through PASS ( Police Applicant Screening Service ) for most of the PD's there. I will post the link here for you. Anyway good luck

http://www.policestandards.org/
      I've got friends in low places

Comment

If you're an MP, your military experience should get you qualified to skip the basic academy and take an accelerated, two to three week course for LEOs with experience.

Most agencies down here don't prehire, which means you have to be certified before agencies will even accept your application. IMO, you should look at getting your Florida certification ASAP. Even though you shouldn't begin applying for another year or so, having that certification is something that you need to get. If you can somehow manage to take a couple weeks off and come down to Florida to get it done, that would be great.

TPD, TTPD, HCSO, PCSO, and CPD would be my suggestions for agencies to look for. USFPD and TIAPD are also good agencies if you want to work in that kind of environment. Stay away from SPPD.

Comment

Originally posted by jorkassyd