300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LASIK after med eval.

I'm currently waiting on "the call" from the USSS UD for hiring. I have been wearing contacts for going on nine years and have thrown around getting a Lasik procedure done for years. Now that there's a very real possibility of being hired and sent to training sometime in the next 6 months, I've decided that I want to get it done (to avoid lugging dozens of "daily" contact lenses with me down to Georgia). Obviously, I have already passed my medical, to include a vision test with and without my contacts in. Would it be an issue to have the procedure done between now and the start of training?

Have uncorrected vision no worse than 20/60 binocular; correctable to 20/20 in each eye (NOTE: Lasik, ALK, RK and PRK corrective eye surgeries are acceptable eyes surgeries for applicants provided specific visual tests are passed. The following are the waiting periods before visual tests are conducted after the surgery: Lasik surgery–three months; PRK–six months; and ALK and RK–one year.)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

Originally posted by Rush1869 View Post
      Have uncorrected vision no worse than 20/60 binocular; correctable to 20/20 in each eye (NOTE: Lasik, ALK, RK and PRK corrective eye surgeries are acceptable eyes surgeries for applicants provided specific visual tests are passed. The following are the waiting periods before visual tests are conducted after the surgery: Lasik surgery–three months; PRK–six months; and ALK and RK–one year.)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
      I am aware that Lasik is an approved corrective action for bad eyesight with the USSS. However, my question was more towards getting it done after I have passed the vision portion of my med eval

Comment

You would need to discuss this with the HR or Recruiter or BI that you have been working with.

Comment

Look into PRK instead.

Comment