Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I Apply to Multiple Departments?

Hello Gents,

I believe I’m a fairly competitive prospective officer. I was in the Army as an infantryman in the 75th Ranger Regiment and after my honorable discharge I earned two B.A.s in Psychology and Sociology (with an emphasis in criminology). I have maintained peak physical conditioning and would easily max any PT test administered. I have good credit with nothing in collections, have never used illegal drugs… other than experimented with marijuana for the first and only time(4 years ago when I got out of the service), had several speeding tickets (5) but all were when I was young and haven’t had a single citation in almost 6 years.
    My problem is that I am quite set on a specific region and would like to get into a certain department (largest in the state)…. should I apply to a couple departments that are near my desired metro as backup plans or do you reasonably believe I will be accepted by said department? My reasoning is I want to seem confident and only apply to them, but as you all know… the application process can take quite a while… Don’t need a 8 month setback.

Thanks in advance.

Originally posted by Prater8 View Post
    Hello Gents,

I believe I’m a fairly competitive prospective officer. I was in the Army as an infantryman in the 75th Ranger Regiment and after my honorable discharge I earned two B.A.s in Psychology and Sociology (with an emphasis in criminology). I have maintained peak physical conditioning and would easily max any PT test administered. I have good credit with nothing in collections, have never used illegal drugs… other than experimented with marijuana for the first and only time(4 years ago when I got out of the service), had several speeding tickets (5) but all were when I was young and haven’t had a single citation in almost 6 years.