300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Along Came Poly

I've never actually seen the movie, just know the title...

So, I've got some corrections experience, along with security/detention experience, and I've never actually taken a polygraph. While applying for a CO position, I was midway through the Florida Highway Patrol, about to take my polygraph, but took the job with the prison. So that's that. I keep up with many of the threads here, probably 5-7 that I really care about, and many of the posts pertain to someone's upcoming polygraph test. No matter the agency, it seems to be the most worried about step in the process, though physical assessments are up there on many peoples' list as well. But, no matter how confident or nervous someone is, I've seen results all over the place regarding the outcome. Nervous people pass, confident people fail, and visa versa.

I've seen numerous posts stating to just remain calm, and do NOT look up techniques to beat the polygraph. Good advice I'm sure, but there seems to be so much to it, possibly depending on location or agency.

TL/DR: What has been your experience(s) with the polygraph test (good/bad, pass/fail, what agency, etc.)? Do you have any advice? What should I/we expect?

I thought this would be a beneficial post for many, even anecdotal for some.
    CBPO 15-5 BPA 16-1
    09/13/15 App (Laredo)
    09/23 Exam
    10/09 Rfrd GS-7
    10/18 Score - 98
    10/26 eQip Email
    10/27 Med/PFT1 Email
    10/29 SI/VBT Sched 11/23
    11/04 Med/PFT1
    11/04 eQip Sent
    11/10 "" Accptd
    11/23 VBT/SI
    11/24 ""(Pass)
    12/03 Rcvd Med/Fit Email (Pass, Follow-Up)
    09/18/15 App (S. TX)
    10/28 Exam (ALT)
    11/15 ReApp (AZ)
    11/18 Score (100)
    11/20 TSL GS-5
    12/16 Sched Med/PFT1
    02/04/16 OHB/Poly

Just relax and tell the truth.
    Its Showtime! -- "The Icon" -- Sting.

Comment

Originally posted by eastwest2300 View Post
      Just relax and tell the truth.