300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Applying while still on active duty?

I’m an active duty Air Force intelligence officer looking at possible career options on the federal LE side. I have no direct LE experience, but I’ve completed multiple deployments, hold a TS//SCI with poly, master’s degree and foreign language proficiency.

I’m curious if anyone here has firsthand experience in making the switch from active duty to an 1811 position. Specifically, I'm wondering how realistic it is for someone to apply for positions while still on active duty? Is it possible to hold off separating from active duty until after receiving an employment offer? I’m pretty hesitant at this point about leaving my current career behind without having a new one lined up on the outside.

I understand that in order to receive veteran’s preference on the application I would need to be separated with a DD214 in hand. Would my application be dead in the water if I decided to forego the vet points and apply while still on active duty?

I’m planning to get in touch with my local AFOSI folks to ask some of these questions. But I was wondering if anyone here could add insight as well. I tried to search older threads for people posting their experiences with this, but no luck. Thanks in advance.

So I was/am active duty Army on terminal leave and started applying about a year out. It is a good idea to start early as Fed LE is a long process. I had to find a temp job to hold me over until I hopefully get picked up by ATF/FBI/local PD. You can get your S1 to get you a "statement of Service". It is a document which has all your basic info and states you dates of service, rank, and projected ETS date. You can also go to your out processing place and get an unofficial DD214. I applied to FBI in Aug 14, ATF in Oct 14, and locals before either of the other two. It is a long process.
    Croc