300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Still Looking to Get into Law Enforcement but I am 40 YO

Hi everyone, I am in the great state of Illinois but unfortunately they have a max age of 34 years of in most departments. I know out of state many departments have a max age of 44-45 and some don't have one. My question is that do I still have a shot even though I am 40 years old? I tested for years in Illinois and did get on many lists but never did get the chance. I have a Bachelors in criminal justice, clean background and I am working out to get in shape again. I still want a career in law enforcement but will agencies give me a chance even though I am 40?

65 ilcs 5/10-2.1-6

Comment

Sir,

Try the US Department of Veterans Affairs Police. There's sure to be a VA hospital or clinic in your vicinity. Once you get it in, it is easy to roll-over to another agency. I was hired at 40+ and just retired.

A thought; nearly every branch of government has a law enforcement component, usually a uniformed position.

Good luck, Len

Comment

What part of the state are you in?

Comment

Originally posted by scott40 View Post
          Hi everyone, I am in the great state of Illinois but unfortunately they have a max age of 34 years of in most departments. I know out of state many departments have a max age of 44-45 and some don't have one. My question is that do I still have a shot even though I am 40 years old? I tested for years in Illinois and did get on many lists but never did get the chance. I have a Bachelors in criminal justice, clean background and I am working out to get in shape again. I still want a career in law enforcement but will agencies give me a chance even though I am 40?
          It is not an issue in the State of Florida. My academy class consisted of several retired military : late 40s and a gentleman that was in his 50s. Several of them smoked us younger guys in PT.