Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Background Investigation and Current Employer - when to tell them?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Background Investigation and Current Employer - when to tell them?

Hey all,

I was just curious as to what point in the process for some of these LE jobs do you choose to tell your current employer that you've applied to something else.

I'm in the midst of a BI for a DSS position, and hadn't yet notified my current employer, primarily because there is still a good stretch to go before the possibility of leaving.

Today I received an email that my investigator contacted some co-workers/bosses, as that's who I had listed as someone who could validate my employment. I work as a consultant and we get many government contracts, which led to an akward email wondering what account I was working that might have potential state department work.

I had to explain what it was for, and fortunately my bosses are very understanding and seem to be supportive. Had they not been, my outing may have gone a bit differently. I had planned to tell them, just not at this stage.

I suppose I could have been more explicit with the investigator, but I also imagine they have to do their due diligence, which probably includes speaking with current employers.

Curious how others who have been through the process handled things.

Obviously each case will be unique, but you will want to be sure your current employer gets the courtesy of notification from you vice a BI poking around. Be up front about it- you enjoy working there but have a career goal to be (fill in the blank) and that they will get 100% out of you until that moment comes.

And FWIW- this question comes up time and time again here.
    Originally posted by SSD