Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to backstop a confidential informant?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to backstop a confidential informant?

I am new in the drug game and cultivated a CI. Just looking for some advice from you senior guys on how to backstop a CI or get him out the picture so don't have to use him in complaint etc?

Any advice or tactics from you experienced guys would be appreciated!!

If anyone chooses to reply to this thread, please do so by private message only.

Comment

The senior guys in your unit would be the better source of info on this. Not the new hire section on an internet forum...

Comment

As saone pointed out, the proper question is why is this thread in the Law Enforcement Job forum?

Comment

Backstopping and/or keeping a CI's identity confidential is fundamental for any police/investigative agency. Your agency should policies on it, if you're new to it, consult with a seasoned investigator within your agency.
          I’ll die with blue in my veins.

Comment

Originally posted by jeff_west View Post
            I am new in the drug game and cultivated a CI. Just looking for some advice from you senior guys on how to backstop a CI or get him out the picture so don't have to use him in complaint etc?

Have you thought about meeting the informant in a dark alley and terminating him?

Just kidding,

I think the advice provided by others is correct!
            Last edited by TopGun87; 04-24-2014, 07:58 PM.
            The only easy day was yesterday. - BUDS Instructor

Comment

Buy him a cake with matching boots

Comment

Originally posted by jeff_west View Post

Without going into methods I will note that you are confusing things- which evidences you nascent investigative experience. Point is that “backstopping” is not related to using a source/informant for introductions per se- it deals with source validation, etc.