300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I can be fired for not being a veteran

For the last year I have been trying to regain a full time permanent federal law enforcement position. My background is the following: I have a Master's degree, I was a GS-09 National Park Service LE Ranger for two years, I graduated from a 16 week FLETC basic academy, and I'm a schedule A person with disability. While going through field training my dad passed away. So i made the decision to resign to take care of my mom. For 10 months I applied for over 75 federal LE positions. Like most of you know the Veterans preference was fully enforced. Lots of agencies like USMS, DEA,ATF,FBI,and FPS had veterans only hiring. I tried to join the military last year but was repeatedly denied all because I admitted that i went to grief counseling after my dad's death. I was deemed a suicide risk. I had a conversation with a US Marshal's HR recruiter yesterday. And what she told me was disturbing. She told me that because of the Presidents Executive Order all federal agencies are suppose to only hire Veterans. She told me that if an agency hires me a non veteran and a veteran files a lawsuit than that agency would have to fire me after being hired. I have no problems when qualified veterans are hired. As long as they try to hire us non veterans also. I have a term USAF civilian police officer position. My position maybe cancelled by the end of the year. I'm just needing help.

Why not open up your restrictions to include local and state law enforcement agencies?

State and local agencies generally officer much more diverse opportunities. However, the pay is usally lower, but not in all cases. Often times, local and state agencies offer much better benefits then Federal agencies.

Also, DEA and FBI did not have veteran's only hiring. Customs and the Border Patrol are also hiring non-veterans.
    Last edited by o2force; 07-31-2013, 01:03 PM.

Comment