Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FBI special agent hiring question...

Hello,
    I have a few questions about the FBI special agent hiring qualifications, and I was hoping that some of you might have the answers, or could at least point me to someone who does.

On the fbijobs dot gov website, it states that you must obtain a 4 year degree. (I have a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice with a minor in homeland security). It also states that you must have at least 3 years of professional work experience. (The work experience must be relevant to your area of expertise, i.e., you cannot work as a landscaper if you have a law degree etc.). I have a solid work history, but nothing directly related to criminal justice, or homeland security.

I am in the position now where I can look for employment that would help me become more highly qualified for when I am able to apply for the SA position, but do not “need” a new job ASAP.
    I would be using the critical skill options of Military experience, and would like to use law enforcement or other investigative experience also. I have applied to two different jobs, and have been offered a position for both of them (crazy I know…). Both are local, and pay is not an issue, I now have to choose...

Which of these two positions would best fit in the "law enforcement or other investigative experience" critical skill area, and also count towards my "at least three years of professional work experience".

A Transportation Security Inspector-(aviation) for the TSA
    Or
    A Police officer in the Veterans Affairs Hospital?

Obviously the TSI position is not law enforcement, and the VA Police is, BUT it states in the duties section of the TSI position that I would be “Conducting regulatory inspections/investigations and supports criminal investigations related to alleged or suspected security violations.” That might make it fit into the “Other investigative experience” part of the critical skill right?