300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why is there only GS12 or above positions being advertised

I have been reviewing usajobs for about a year now. And there has only been 6 times when a decent federal LE job was posted. I qualify for GS 11 or lower positions and have graduated from a FLETC CITP equivalent course. My course was the Land Mangement Police Course. I have over 6 years of federal LE experience and have a Master's Degree. I'm getting very frustrated that I can't get hired for a decent federal LE job. My current Air Force Police Officer job will be furloughed or completly enliminated in the coming months. I had a hard time getting this current job or any of the better jobs all because I'm not a veteran. Can anyone tell me why there is not more GS 11 or lower positions being posted.

The economy sucks and like you said veterans are everywhere with the wars dieing down. Many are just a qualified. You will nevertheless see a fair amount of GS 9-10 jobs each year. Entry level announcements GS 5-9 come around maybe once every one/two years for major agencies. The FBI has one every 6 months. That is the basic scheme of things. It's not ideal in your situation but if your in a pinch and want to keep the federal law enforcement retirement clock going, BOP appears to be always hiring and they hire quick if they want you. 1811 positions can take years to process.

In the past two years I have seen (based on memory) mass hiring announcements for entry level 1811s for the following: ATF, FBI, DEA, ICE, USSS, Interior -land management investigators?, Indian Affairs, and the IRS. (Many of these guys are still processing and waiting to be hired).

Aside from that, there are periodic 1811 jobs posted (from a variety of agencies) with 1 to a few positions open at the 9-10 level every few months. I'm assuming these are internal announcements, poaching of unhappy 1811s from other agencies, or they already have a candidates in mind.