300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Suspicious hiring process

I applied to my local PD recently and it's a small city within a huge county. I am a veteran and have Military Law enforcement experience. On to this hiring process, The written test required a T-Score of 60 to pass. I didn't get a 60 I got a Tscore of 58 and was kick myself in the butt for it. Here's where it gets weird a few days after this department suddenly lowered it's standards to include T-Scores of 50 or above because they were "seeking a greater applicant pool." At first I thought well great I have a chance again. But then I realized why would a department lower their standards if they wanted more applicants, why not administer a new written and get those that score a 60 or above?They are having another testing cycle next month anyway(Too much common sense). I am well aware of the cronyism and nepotism that run rampant among smaller departments such as this, it even happens in bigger departments(LA sheriffs). I think this is a case of them knowing who they wanted all along and the person didn't acheive a passing grade so they lowered the standard. I say this because I was flawless in the interview with my military background and experience. The questions and my answers were basically the same as an interview I had with another agency just the day before in which I received a 100% score. Yet in this small department I didn't pass the oral. This is highly disappointing to me because I joined the military in a law enforcement specialty to become a police officer and wanted to serve my hometown where I grew up, but I don't have any connections at the department. My friend who was an explorer with this department warned me that they only hire recruits that have connections, but I didn't buy into that until now. At least I got the other department going for me I have my background in 2 weeks which should be good I have all kinds of awards in the military. Sorry for the