300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What are my chances?

I apologize up-front as I understand this question has been posted before. However, my circumstances are somewhat unique. Based on the following, what are my chances of being hired?

The good: I have a Master's Degree, hold an active Top Secret clearance, and served 6 years as a military officer with an honorable discharge.

The bad: I have a misdemeanor petty theft arrest on my juvenile record from 15 years ago and five traffic citations (one a non-moving violation), the latest of which was cited in 2004.

I'm 30 years old looking to get hired in the Bay Area, CA.

Originally posted by LL View Post
    I apologize up-front as I understand this question has been posted before. However, my circumstances are somewhat unique. Based on the following, what are my chances of being hired?

The good: I have a Master's Degree, hold an active Top Secret clearance, and served 6 years as a military officer with an honorable discharge.

The bad: I have a misdemeanor petty theft arrest on my juvenile record from 15 years ago and five traffic citations (one a non-moving violation), the latest of which was cited in 2004.

How is your “situation” even remotely unique?

A few things to note: A masters degree may help in some circles but law enforcement is an entry level job for the most part. Holding any manner of clearance while it shows you are for the most part a decent person who can be trusted with classified information does not mean you are suitable for law enforcement. While your service is appreciated, the market is literally flooded with veterans.

The juvenile record should not be that huge of a hurdle nor should the seemingly minor traffic history.
    That said, there is way more to your chances of success in the process than what we have covered thus far. Take some time to cull through the forums with “you” specific issues in mind. Use the search function and read.