Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What counts more for an 1811 job: Military experience or law enforcement?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What counts more for an 1811 job: Military experience or law enforcement?

I know every case is different and each individual has his own skills and qualifications that are brought to the table, but what would you say gives you the better chance at getting hired as an 1811: military experience or local law enforcement?

Military experience. You have a better chance becoming a fed with a degree and military experience.

Comment

Yep, many openings you can't even apply to without military or some other special factor.

Likewise college. Most 1811 openings require a 4 year degree minimum.

So, I'd say college, military, disability points and then previous LE experience in that order.
      "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." -- GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

"With a brother on my left and a sister on my right, we face…. We face what no one should face. We face, so no one else would face. We are in the face of Death." -- Holli Peet

Comment

Go to West Point or ROTC or something liket that, get military experience and a Degree. Kill two birds with one stone. Wish I would have done it.

Comment

ROTC was good for me. Best career move I have ever made by far! In no other job out of college you can directly lead 35 men (combat arms), million dollars worth of equipment, and responsibility for planning your platoon training. And of course be a leader in combat situations. Compared to your civilian peers, there is no comparison.. Not at all..

Comment