Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please Shoot Straight With Me

Here are the facts:

I turn 36 on Sunday. I have no degree. I have no certification. I have no practical experience. I have poor credit. I have no sense of smell. And on Thursday, I fully expect to be diagnosed with some form of depression.

Now, I don't personally think any of that would prevent me from becoming a great LEO, but I also know that it isn't my decision, or I'd already be one.

Given all that seemingly lined up against me, is it in any way realistic that I'll become a police officer any time soon?

Please be brutally honest. I just need to know if I'm wasting my time.

Thanks.

Nope.
    But on the brightside, you are more than half way to being a Congressman. So...

Comment

• The credit is a problem, especially at your age. Granted, there could have been some reason that might be justifiable, but I'm just going off of what you've given.
      • You do not necessarily need a degree, but most departments require at least 60 hours of college credits or prior LE experience (which you do not have).
      • The medical issues (smell/depression) will most likely be a show stopper.

Are you prior military at all? What do you mean you have no practical experience? Did you mean you have no applicable experience to law enforcement? Practical experience = jobs and life experience. I would hope at 36 you have that.

I gotta tell you, it's extremely unlikely for you. It's beyond competitive right now and you'll be going up against people with military experience, degrees, and without the credit/medical problems.

That being said, nothing is impossible. If you really want the job, you're not going to let a bunch of strangers on the internet tell you to give up.

Comment

Originally posted by KevinA76 View Post
        Here are the facts: