300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tampa? Orlando? Border Patrol? going somewhere

I'm currently a Memphis Police officer. I have given this wonderful city 5 years and now they have decided that i do not need 4.6 percent of my pay "possibly more in another cut". They have also raised insurance premiums to avoid a pay cut which is exactly what that is. Now if that wasn't wonderful enough they are trying make drastic changes to the pension plan. As it currently stands i would be able to retire after 25 years of service regardless of age with 62.5 percent pension which accrues at 2.5 percent per year. We also currently have the 3 year drop plan like many other agencies. Our pension plan isn't the greatest but i like where i am. The new pension plan would accrue at 2 percent per year with a minimum age for retirement of 55 for police and fire. Let me also say that i hired on at 21 which adds 9 years to me eligibility. I also can't get a straight answer to whether or not my pension would actually increase after my 25 years of service for those last 9 years. 25 years 50 percent pension might be the same as 34 years service 55 years old 50 percent pension. Sorry long story to ask this, anyone out there currently employed by Orlando or Tampa? I have a few questions. Tampa Pd starts out "lateral" on a step 3 with over 4 years of service at a larger police department, how fast do you move up the other 7 steps? How do promotions work merit, test, seniority?, is there a bid system or officers just placed by chief or Lt., Is there a dedicated Srt/ Swat team or like many small agencies that have patrol officers with special patches? Also if you work there any advice? Is there a residency requirement for either? Also considering Border Patrol but haven't researched that much.

Thanks
    Ryan
    Last edited by coop644c; 10-20-2011, 03:08 AM.

Originally posted by coop644c View Post