Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Loss prevention experience - good gig while in college?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Loss prevention experience - good gig while in college?

wolf-man here always trying to get more ammunition for my eventual LE application. I'm a young college sophomore in the National Guard and my dream is to be an LAPD officer one day. I recently got into this Loss Prevention program 5 weeks of paid training then I start the job (store detective) and I'm wondering with a year or 2 experience how much will that help me when I apply for an actual PD?

I picked the job for 3 reasons
    1. Catching thieves is simply my idea of a good time
    2. Might gain some investigative/surveillance experience
    3. In the course of my work might gain some useful contacts in Law Enforcement that will help me down the line

Realistically would experience in loss prevention put me over any of the other candidateswith corporate work experience or just college? I know it's not real LE work but it is closely related

It wont help you one way or the other here.....any more than any other security type job will.

Most agencies could care less about what type of employment you had before applying.....what they are interested in is this: did you show up on time?.....did you do what you were hired and paid to do?.....did you get along with your coworkers?
    The posts on this forum by this poster are of his personal opinion, and his personal opinion alone

"Politicians are like diapers. They need to be changed often and for the same reason"

"We fight not for glory; nor for wealth; nor honor, but only and alone we fight for freedom, which no good man surrenders but with his life"

Comment

Ahhh I figured even with experience in loss prevention I'm still compared to a guy who worked at McDonalds...

Oh well still should be interesting and fun

Comment

Originally posted by Wolf Man View Post