Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thinking lateral, looking for ideas...

I am looking for some advice from guys around the country who are currently employed law enforcement - no offense to others, but I want up-to-date and accurate info.

I am an experienced patrol officer, detective, and FTO (over six years of law enforcement experience) working for a small municipal agency in NC. I love the agency for which I work, but I simply can't live off the pay here. I am making $30K and having trouble keeping up with my school loans. We haven't had a raise in four years and we just found out that next year will be the same. I'm 27 years old, so moving to another state may not set me back very far in terms of retirement since NC is still on the 30 year program. My entire family moved out of state last year, so I no longer have roots here in NC.

I am single, unattached, and willing to go anywhere for the right department. I have a B/S in Multidisciplinary Studies (Accounting and CJ) and a M/A in Business Management - both of which I completed while working full time while in patrol and CID. I specialize in financial crime and have carved out a niche here as the local go-to detective for white collar investigations (can't call myself an expert yet, but I'm getting there). I have a strong personnel that includes a medal and several awards over the past few years (2009 Customer Service Excellence award, 2010 local emergency services Hero award [didn't actually do anything heroic...just a hard worker], etc). I am the youngest detective, supervisor and SRT member in my agency. In all, I feel that I am a strong candidate for lateral transfer to most municipal agencies.