300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about trying to juggle military and applying for law enforcement

Hello my name is Alex and I am a senior college student who is also in the reserves. I want to start applying for law enforcement jobs however I am not sure how to juggle military training and the academy. Should I wait until after I have finished my preliminary training for the military to start applying? Are police departments supportive of postponing academy dates for military training? Would it be detrimental to my training to go through the academy, then leave for four months for military training, and return after to being training with an FTO? Any suggestions or recommendations would be very appreciative. Thank you.

Police depts are not going adjust your training around your military training. Your academy will start when it starts and if your not there, you dont go. I would finish your military training then start applying. Your not going to be able to do both at the same time.
    It would have neg impact to leave after the academy for 4 months and then come back and start your FTO phase. You will have forgotten a lot that you learned and will be significantly behind your peers.
    Finish one then start on the other, otherwise both will suffer.

Comment

In my experience I say go ahead and apply. With the crap economy no one hiring in large numbers and the lengthy application processes you will most likely complete your initial entry training before even getting looked at by LE agencies. I've been waiting on a job with ICE and in that time I've commissioned, finished officer basic, deployed to the ME and will most likely make captain before they call me!
      USPIS PI 2014

IRS CI SA 2014

Comment

Go ahead and apply