Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Army Limey moving to USA.

Ok guys,

I'm currently a commissioned officer in the British Army holding the rank of Lieutenant and am getting increasingly frustrated/bored of my job.
    I work in the field of communication but in reality much of my day is taken up with paperwork. I have a friend in the Met Police (London) and Surrey Police who are both really enjoying their work and telling me plenty of cool stories.

I'm going to try 1 or 2 things first in the Army but my plan C is to get out and join the UK Police in Surrey which could be fairly difficult as recruiting is tight.

I got talking to a friend of mine on holiday and we were talking about the police in the US. Realistically in London the police deal with a lower lever of crime and as i'm sure you know most are not armed.

Ok, i'm dragging this out now.
    What I want to know is would it be possible to get a green card and move to the USA. Purely from what I see on TV ie news/movies I was looking at the NYPD with long term plans to join something like the FBI.

I know this really is 'pie in the sky' stuff and i'm a million miles away but i'm 25 years old, i've been trained by the British Army including Sandhurst. I have fair grades from school/college and i'm looking for a change. I am a very driven person and if this is possible and something i'd enjoy i'd happily give it a shot.

Any help would be great guys esp if you know anyone that has done similar.

Many Thanks,

Muz

Most states and/or departments require you to be a citizen to be a police officer. If you want out of the England, do you have a more realistic chance of becoming an officer in Canada?

Comment

I know it has been done, so it is possible. It would just take you years to finally reach that point. ESPECIALLY if you were going to try for the FBI, which takes years for US citizens. Even the NYPD is a 2-3 year wait now.