300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'd like to be a special agent

Once I get out of college, maybe for A criminal justice degree, I'd like to be a police officer/detective for a few years.
    I'd also want to be on the swat team.
    After that I'd like to have an "1811" job.
    I was set on the FBI for a while until I realized my chances among the other tens of thousands of people.
    I'd be interested in Ncis, Dea but Any 1811 agency would make me happy
    I need advice on some 1811 agencies, and what to do to prepare.

THANKS!
    Last edited by Hboy828; 01-26-2011, 06:52 PM.

I would try to get a degree in finance or accounting, because it helps out a lot with 1811 positions. You could probably dual major in CRJ and accounting if you are going into college with some credits under your belt (I went in with close to 30 credits, took as many AP and college level classes as possible my senior year of HS).

I have no state or local LEO experience, but have those degrees and while I was getting my masters degree (Masters of Public Administration - Inspectors General, which is auditing and accounting for public sector entities) I got a job at a major bank. There I got a ton of anti-money laundering, federal regulation, and profiling training.

Now I am at the tale end of the process for the DEA, just waiting for my BI to clear.

Best advice is to study hard, keep your nose clean, and get as much experience as possible. Go to each agencies career's page and see what the requirements are to be an 1811 for that specific agency. May be even call a local field office and talk to a recruiter to see what they look for.

Good luck, my friend.

EDIT: Oh and get in as good physical shape as possible. Most agencies have pretty decent physical fitness requirements. Expect to do pull-ups, push-ups, situps, sprints, and at least a 1.5 mile run (Some agencies, like the DEA, have a 2 mile run) for a good amount of reps/time.