300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Job decision dilemma

I am currently employed as a deputy corrections officer at the county I originally wanted to work for. I took the county job originally as a dispatcher as a way to get my foot in the door, was allowed to go to a regional academy and graduate at my own expense, then moved to the jail in order to gain some "offender experience" in preparation for applying for the patrol division, which is where I want to be.

To say that patrol slots are hard to come by is an understatement. Like many county agencies, they promote from within and while there aren't currently any openings in patrol, when one comes up there will be 20-25 individuals with more experience and time on at the agency going for it. I could get lucky or I could get stuck in the jail for the next 5 years.

I used to work for the university police department where I got my bachelor's degree from and I enjoyed it. It's a small department, maybe 15 sworn personnel, but I know the people and the politics and could survive there. Some of the officers are encouraging me to apply there (they have 2 openings), and I'm pretty sure I could walk on to the department. So here's the dilemma: I would love to be at the county where I would be much more busy, but I have patrol fever bad. If I took the job at the university, I would immediately be on patrol, I would get a slight pay increase, all equipment would be paid for, overtime opportunities, and they throw all kinds of money into whatever schools you want to go to (they are huge on training).

If you're in my shoes, what would you do? I'm really on the fence here. I love the county I work for but I also feel like the road to patrol experience, even if it's not very action-packed, is almost too hard to turn down. The money isn't a huge issue but I also feel like being a young officer I'll want to be more proactive than that agency would like...