300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions on expirence?

Got a question for some of you guys in the know. I have applied for several federal jobs and I have been passing the test but I keep getting told that my lack of LE experience is hurting me. I have an Associate’s Degree and 10 years of non LE work experience. A pretty good size PD about 20 miles away from me is hiring reserve officers. Do you guys think it would be worth trying to get one of these positions? No one around me is hiring full time officers. I have talked to the recruiter and he told me they go through state certification for reserves. Anyway just curious if you guys think it would be helpful in the long run. Thanks!

Originally posted by jb5722
    what matters most, is what exactly a reserve does in your state. if a reserve officer is the same as a full time officer with the exception of the hours they work and what they are paid. then it is well worth it. you would have to consider how you will go through the academy and work at the same time though.
    Very good points. And in my state what a reserve does actually differs from dept to dept. Some departments let their reserve act just like full time officers and let them make all the arrests they want. But some other departments mainly use their reserves for traffic control and transporting individuals from the arrest point to the jail. So be sure to do your research. Also, the academies in my state usually do one night class per week then an all day class on Saturday. So if you work nights you might be out of luck.

Comment

Originally posted by soonerfever View Post