Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

A question from a union construction worker trying to go into Law Enforcement.

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A question from a union construction worker trying to go into Law Enforcement.

Hello guys, Ive been lurking in this forum for a while reading up on info and getting myself ready physically and making plans on what classes I will take to get a good degree to aid me in my way of becoming a LEO. I have never had any trouble with the law or anyone.
    I have been a heavy equipment operator for 5 years now and have worked in many, many construction in my companies, too many in my opinion. The problem is that here in Chi-town construction is only seasonal and getting laid-off is a normal occurrence, and now even more that the economy is horrible. I have never been late, fired or even yelled at in any of my jobs and get call backs all the time but since I am still an apprentice I cant always go to the same company(a bunch of union rules, P.I.T.A.!!!!). In my 6 years in the work force Ive gone through 23 employers and I am only 25! But fully determined in my dream and goal to in Law enforcement.

OK well now here is Question.... how badly do you guys think this will affect me in an interview or in my application. If they were to see all these employers on my application would they think I can't keep a job worth a damn. what would be you guy's advice or opinion???

Thank all you guys before hand I really appreciate your feedback.
    Last edited by mauser98k; 09-08-2010, 01:58 PM.

I think it would be more of a pain for you than anything else. On the last background check i did, I had to list every employer I EVER HAD, including name/number/address of a coworker. They understand union politics, so if you really don't have anything in your file, its a non-issue.
    The unexamined life is not worth living. - Socrates

Comment