300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How much does college GPA matter when applying for a SA position

I graduated college with a dual major in criminal law and psychology, and had a overall GPA of 2.944.

Is there a GPA requirment to apply for a SA job (FBI or ATF)?

How much does GPA actually weigh in when they look at applicants?

Thanks.

Having solid real world experience is more important.

Add in some other skills like language, foreign experience, advanced degrees, military experience, prior LE, etc...you are well on your way

Comment

From what I have been told they don't really matter, agencies that have minimum GPA requirements just care that achieved the GPA. So if an agency says minimum GPA of 3.0, they don't really care if you have a 3.1 or 3.9, all they care about is if you have a 3.0. However your GPA can impact where you start on the pay scale, some agencies hire entry level SA's at the 7 level which means you have to have above a 3.0 cumulative or a 3.5 in your major, whereas at the 5 level they just care if you got a degree.

So for you with a GPA of 2.944 you would not be eligible for the 7 level, unless you had a 3.5 or better in your major. Now if you have other work experience that could help but I am just talking about meeting requirements with education only. So if your GPA in your major is less then a 3.5 then you can only apply at the 5 level, if you are only applying based on your education.

Comment

Originally posted by myu2 View Post
        I graduated college with a dual major in criminal law and psychology, and had a overall GPA of 2.944.

Is there a GPA requirment to apply for a SA job (FBI or ATF)?

How much does GPA actually weigh in when they look at applicants?

Thanks.