Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Personal Dilemma

Hey Guys/Gals,

So I have a problem that I would love some advice on. I believe that a little background is in order to give a better idea of the situation.

When I was in high school I interned with a local PD my senior year and loved it. After I graduated from HS I worked an IT job for about a year and a half while volunteering on a local search and rescue team. While their I obtained my EMT-B and EMT-I and went on to work for an amublance company that ran 911 calls with SLC here in Utah. I got married and adopted my wifes little boy. We ended up having another little girl so I decided to try to be home more with my new family and accepted a job at the IT department of a large bank in the area. I have been here for almost a year and a half and recently move to the IT security team which I was hoping would give me a bit more of the drive and excitement I was hoping for.

The problem is that I still miss the street. My wife teases me thatabout acting like our 3 year old when I see squad cars and fire trucks rolling 10-39. I finish my BS in IT in November and was planning on starting my MS in Information Security in December. The problem I face is:

A.) I miss feeling like I am making a difference. I mean I know my job is important and vital to my organization that I am with but I wish I was doing more to impact peoples lives. I miss that about working EMS.

B.) My wife and I are having a third child and with my job at the bank she has been able to stay home and not have to work. So when I talk about leaving she thinks I am nuts. I do enjoy that our kids get to be raised by their mother. I dont mean to sound like I am complaining we are very blessed. In fact she only stays home because we have a small house and no loans on our vehicles.

So I have basically broken it down to a few options:

1.) Look into volunteering as a local forensics/disaster recovery agent/officer for free at a department.