300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Resume Question

I am currently in the process of applying for the NCIS Special Agent position and I was hoping to get some pointers on my resume which I will compile through USAJobs.com resume builder. I would like to know what everyone thinks of adding irrelevant work experience to their resume. Basically, I have experience going back over ten years that I would like to have in my resume. The only problem is I have several periods of transition between jobs. For instance, after the military I worked as a sales person and a security officer for over a year. I then worked in the IT field for about three years before being laid off. After being laid off, I worked as a police dispatcher for a year before finding another job in the IT field. After another year of working in the IT field, I then transitioned into the law enforcement field for which I have been employed as a police officer over the past five years. In summary, I would like to list my military, IT, and LEO experience in my resume and leave out the few short term jobs that I had while transitioning. Would it be okay to have some gaps in my resume since some of the work I performed was not relevant to the position I am applying for? Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Originally posted by cowbucs View Post