Federal Probation Officer

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Federal Probation Officer

To make an extremely long story short... I have worked for the Federal Government as a Customs & Border Protection Officer for over a year. Prior to doing this I was a Corrections Officer for a county government for 4 years. I have a Masters degree in CJ... so on and so forth.

I got a little off track in my attempt to become a Federal PO by taking the first FLEO position that came available with hopes that it would get my foot in the door... which required me to move 5 hours away from home. I can't complain because CBP has been very good to me... but it’s not the field I want to put another 24 years in. Anyhow, I just went through a hiring process for a non-Fed position that would pay me more than CBP and is essentially the criminal justice administrator for a pretty big county in my hometown. Right when things were looking good... the Fed probation office in my hometown just called me for a test/interview. Now I am torn whether I should stay with the Federal government with hopes of getting the PO position (my 6c/12d coverage would continue) or I should continue through with the county job? I don’t want to give the impression that I am hopping job-to-job. And if I pass up the county job… what are the chances I will actually get the PO job (rhetorical question)? Would they rather me work as a county criminal justice policy administrator/writer or a FLEO?

I understand that this forum probably won't resolve my dilemma... but any constructive advice from someone in the field would be greatly appreciated.

Originally posted by gms632 View Post
    To make an extremely long story short... I have worked for the Federal Government as a Customs & Border Protection Officer for over a year. Prior to doing this I was a Corrections Officer for a county government for 4 years. I have a Masters degree in CJ... so on and so forth.