Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Opportunities/Marketability?

Hello,

I find myself in limbo in that due to the Navy's force shaping board, I've been selected for involuntary separation. Meaning I got 3 months left till I'm out and will be needing a job. A little background on my situation, I'm currently an Ensign/O-1, who was in flight school, but after doing the initial parts decided that it wasn't my cup of tea. As a result I tried to redesignate, but wasn't selected for anything (Being an Officer Candidate School grad makes it impossible; not enough money invested compared to the Naval Academy and ROTC folks).

Now I'm looking into federal law enforcement as a career. I'm not just jumping onto this out of nowhere, I have thought about and somewhat experienced it. I worked as a undercover security guy at my college bookstore. Yeah I know, not really anything, but I worked closely with the campus police with my job when conducting investigations on ID and credit card fraud.

After college I applied with the BATF and to be a Postal Inspector as well as Navy OCS. I took the Navy option because part of me was tired of waiting and they gave me a shot to be a pilot, something I thought I always wanted to do. Kinda weird also in that 4 weeks into OCS I get a call from someone from the BATF saying they scheduled me for an interview in the next couple of days, but I couldn't just leave.

So now here's my question, as undesignated Ensign/O-1 with only 5 months in and 3 months left of Active Duty, will that help me with landing a federal law enforcement job or hinder it? I'll be going back to California so I was looking into the DHS jobs such as ICE, Border Patrol, etc. Can you guys give me any advice/recommendations for what to look for?

Thanks,
    afallan
    Last edited by afallan; 09-01-2009, 11:54 AM.