Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Afosi

Hello All:

I'm a student participating in AFROTC. I'm really working on getting an OSI spot upon graduation. Does anyone have information about the OSI recruitment process for ROTC? Also, do OSI SAs have good recruitment possibilities at other agencies, i.e. FBI.

Any information is appreciated!
    Jordan

I had a buddy (active-duty O in the USAF) who wanted to go into OSI upon graduating ROTC. He didn't get it, as ROTC slots for OSI are VERY rare. He is an agent with OSI, but did about 5 years in another USAF job before requesting a transfer to OSI.

Regarding your second question, about recruitment to other federal agencies, if that is your motivation for looking at OSI, you probably need to keep that to yourself while looking at OSI. OSI has had a history of people becoming agents with them, getting training and experience, and then jumping ship to another federal agency shortly after coming on board. People change agencies all the time for various reasons, but OSI is not going to be too interested in someone they know is going to be a "short timer." Think about it from there perspective, if they know in advance you wish to leave, would they really want to put the money into hiring and training you?

My recommendation is to do well with ROTC, apply for OSI but have a back-up plan for other jobs you'd be intersted in (intel would be a good background for OSI, but any USAF job would be fine), and then apply to them if you plan to put in several years before jumping ship or are open to doing a full career with OSI. Otherwise, just apply to other federal agencies after your active-duty USAF commitment is satisfied.
    sigpic

Comment

Thanks for the response, Kimble.
      Jordan

Comment