300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• US Forest Service Ranger

Anyone know how hard it is to land a job with the Forest Service? They have a few openings nationwide. I do not have military or a degree, so would I even stand a chance?

Originally posted by XPD64 View Post
    Anyone know how hard it is to land a job with the Forest Service? They have a few openings nationwide. I do not have military or a degree, so would I even stand a chance?
    I have a bachelor’s degree and 9 years experience as a Police Officer and I have applied several times over the last few years for a Forest Ranger job and I never even get called for an interview.

Comment

In the Forest Service there are Rangers and there are Officers.

Officers are the actual law enforcement for the forest. They are basically the forest cops.

Rangers are the people who take groups on hikes and do all of the traditional park ranger duties.

I am guessing you are taking about USFS Law Enforcement Officer positions, they are VERY difficult to land. Usually you have to have military or prior fed experience to land a position

USFS Ranger positions are usually college students are usually seasonal and have no law enforcement duties, so you would probably qualify for this position.

Comment

Thanks for the replies. I was referring to the USDA Law Enforcement Officer opening. I thought they were referred to as " forest rangers" on their own website. It seems like that is a generic term that has different meanings between Federal agencies. Anyway, I figured it would be very difficult since it is a federal postion.

Comment

Just worked with them for 3 weeks. They're officers. BLM are the Rangers.

Comment

It is a Hard position to land, but if you dont apply then you will never know, what their answer is...

Worst case scenario they will say H*LL NO.

Go ahead an Apply

Comment

Originally posted by manstown View Post