300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• College Grad...CBP or not?

Hello, this is my first time posting on this forum so I'd like to thank everybody up front for helping me out. Soon I will be graduating with a bachelors in a hard science - I hope to use that background to climb up to the FBI/NSA/CIA one day, but let's discuss today first.

I want to get my foot in the door. Period. Since August I have been involved in the BP Agent process and they confirmed that I will hear from Training/Placement as soon as I get my finalized transcripts to them (GL-7 grade). Since the officer vacancy opened up, I am taking the CBPO test this Saturday and will start that process soon. I have also put in an app with the FEMA police and will soon do so with the Secret Service Uniformed Division. Also, I am taking the Conn State and NYPD tests soon.

In a nutshell, should I take the BP Agent job when it is offered to me? Or, should I gamble and wait for one of the above agencies/departments to move me along their process? I thought that I could coast through the CBPO process since my BI and everything is done, but they said that I'd have to do it again because it's a different branch. I would like to get specialized unit experience - so I figured after two years w/. BP maybe I can pursue BORTAC, BORSTAR, or SRT? Again, all I have going for me is my college degree - no previous LE or full time work experience. Please advise. Thank you.

A wise man once stated take the first offer that comes.

Right out of school in a crappy economy, I would take the first job that is offered. You applied to the agencies so you have an obvious interest in their mission, so I would say take the first one that calls. If after a while you decide this is not for me you can try and move on.

Comment

I too would subscribe to "the bird in hand" view. You may never get another offer.